[google-translator]

WEBINAR / Reclaim Our Rights: Freeing tomorrow from the IMF-WB neoliberal pandemic (14 October)

WEBINAR / Reclaim Our Rights: Freeing tomorrow from the IMF-WB neoliberal pandemic (14 October)

14 October, Wednesday
8:00 GMT / 10:00 CEST / 11:00 EAT / 16:00 GMT+8
(for your local timezone click here)
Sign up here: bit.ly/ReclaimOurRights

Today’s crises exposed the effects of the neoliberal policy of the U.S.-led International Monetary Fund and the World Bank Group (IMF-WB) on the people’s right to health and other socio-economic rights. But these institutions continue to work for the domination of corporations in “development.”

While the global South and their peoples are sinking even deeper in debt, they oppose cancellations and trap people’s futures in continued debt bondage. In a time when the exploitative world economic system itself is under question, they remain steadfast in defending it in the name of “recovery”. Even in a time of health and economic crises, the IMF-WB both forward monopoly capitalist interests.

As the IMF-WB hold their 2020 Annual Meetings, the Asia Pacific Research Network (APRN), IBON International, the International Indigenous People’s Movement for Self-Determination and Liberation (IPMSDL), and the People’s Coalition on Food Sovereignty (PCFS) invite you to this webinar. It will tackle issues such as debt in the global South, the continuing corporate-driven “development” approach, and the “new” rhetoric on a post-COVID “economic recovery”–a business-as-usual for transnational corporations and creditor capital disguised as responding to the pandemic and its aftermath.

More importantly, the webinar will highlight peoples’ and their organisations’ struggles in reclaiming their sovereignty, rights, and development from corporate capture, and forward people’s demands for people-centered economies in the context of the various crises today.

Speakers will include Joanna Cariño of the Cordillera People’s Alliance & the International Indigenous People’s Movement for Self-Determination and Liberation, Roland Nassour of the Save Bisri Valley Campaign, Kurniawan Sabar of the People Over Profit Network, Sarojeni Rengam of the PAN-Asia Pacific, Len Cooper of the International League of Peoples’ Struggle, and Jennifer del Rosario-Malonzo of IBON International.

Call for Photos and Videos

You can also participate by sharing your organisation’s statements, or photos/videos of actions, in resistance to the IMF-World Bank, its policies, programs & projects. Send your submissions to reclaimrights2020@gmail.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Close Menu