BOOK LAUNCH / Spreading State Terror under the pandemic and the Terror Law

BOOK LAUNCH / Spreading State Terror under the pandemic and the Terror Law

March 1, 3 PM (Manila), 8 AM (Brussels/Geneva), 6 PM (Sydney)

Register here: http://bit.ly/PHBookLaunch

With speakers from People’s Coalition on Food Sovereignty, Int’l Indigenous Peoples Movement for Self-Determination and Liberation, Council for People’s Development and Governance and International Coalition for Human Rights in the Philippines.

The book “Spreading State Terror under the pandemic and the Terror Law” is a compilation of articles on the Philippine rights situation during the onslaught of the pandemic, and the railroading and expedited implementation of the Anti-Terror Act in 2020. The articles were written by people’s organisations and civil society from different sectors including workers, peasants, Indigenous People, women, and human rights defenders. It discusses the implications on the work for democratic rights, people-centred development, and social justice; draw clear lines of accountability to institutions and officials responsible for the dire rights situation; and produce a critical evidence base of case stories and critiques that could contribute to efforts to exact accountability and justice. It will also show international and local civil society’s initiatives and efforts to respond against the current economic and political situation in the Philippines.###

Leave a Reply

Close Menu