Webinar / Blended finance: The privatization of international aid? (March 31)

Webinar / Blended finance: The privatization of international aid? (March 31)

March 31, 2021
1 PM Toronto / 7 PM Brussels / 1 AM Manila (April 1)
Check your local timezone here: https://bit.ly/3rBdOls
Register to join: http://bit.ly/BlendedFinanceWebinar 

 
This webinar is organized by the Blended Finance Project.
 
Speakers include IBON International Executive Director Jennifer Del Rosario-Malonzo, Angella Macewen (Canadian Union of Public Employees), and María José Romero (The European Network on Debt and Development / EURODAD)
 
Governments continue to promote blended finance as an approach to financing for development despite experiences in developing countries and even in the Global North that show that it only furthers the corporate capture of development at the expense of people’s rights. IBON International will join development practitioners, union members and academics in a discussion on blended finance in the context of multiple global crises exacerbated by COVID-19.  The discussion will reflect on three questions:

1.     Where does the blended finance agenda come from, which global actor(s) have been promoting it and why?
2.     What has been the experience with blended finance elsewhere (e.g. Europe) and what can we learn from these experiences?
3.     What are the alternatives to blended finance?

###

Leave a Reply

Close Menu