[WEBINAR] Global Economic Shocks: What’s Happening? Focus on Food, Fuel and Debt

[WEBINAR] Global Economic Shocks: What’s Happening? Focus on Food, Fuel and Debt

17 June 2022

8:00 Buenos Aires / 14:00 Nairobi / 16:30 India / 19:00 Manila / 21:00 Sydney

When the pandemic hit in 2020, there was an impact on oil and gas demand, leading to rising energy and food prices when economies emerged from lockdowns.

Amid the continuing pandemic, large-scale economic sanctions were imposed on Russia following its invasion of Ukraine in early 2022. The sanctions have particular impacts on supplies of oil, gas and coal to Europe, and exports of grain out of Ukraine and Russia. China’s lockdowns due to the spread of the Omicron variants of COVID-19 led to a sharp decline in Chinese production and exports.

It is in this light that the International League of Peoples Struggles Commission 2 is organising a webinar on the global economic situation focusing on current food, fuel and debt crises. This will involve a broad discussion on the current global crisis, their impacts and campaign recommendations for social movements and people’s organisations

 

Leave a Reply

Close Menu