Online forum: The Cascade/MFD and a just and sustainable recovery: The first review in a pandemic context (September 30)

Online forum: The Cascade/MFD and a just and sustainable recovery: The first review in a pandemic context (September 30)

September 30, 2021
8 AM Washington D.C. / 8 PM Manila / 7 AM Lima / 2 PM Harare / 2 PM Brussels
Civil Society Policy Forum (2021 Annual Meetings of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank Group)
For your local timezones, click here
Watch the livestream here

Co-sponsored by African Forum and Network on Debt and Development (AFRODAD), Bretton Woods Project, La Red Latinoamericana por Justicia Económica y Social (Latindadd), European Network on Debt and Development (Eurodad), IBON International, International Indigenous Peoples Movement for Self-Determination and Liberation (IPMSDL), Society of International Development (SID), the Reality of Aid Network

The COVID-19 health, economic and social crises have created an unprecedented global shock. In April 2021, the World Bank Group (WBG) released a framework for supporting green, resilient and inclusive development (GRID), which emphasizes ‘private sector solutions’, given public debt burdens and constrained fiscal space. This session builds on the discussion opened last year on the WBG’s response to the pandemic between civil society and the institution. It aims at facilitating a dialogue on first lessons learned from the implementation of country-level private finance-driven interventions in the context of the pandemic, and discussing its potential implications and alternatives for just and sustainable recovery.

Moderator: Farwa Sial (Eurodad)
Panelists:
Caroline Muthuri (IBON Africa)
Adrian Chikowore (AFRODAD)
Livi Gerbase (INESC Brazil)

Leave a Reply

Close Menu